Free Your Mind

Co-created by Michael 'Mikey J' Asante, Danny Boyle, Es Devlin, Sabrina Mahfouz and Kenrick 'H2O' Sandy.

Gareth Pugh Costume Designer

Lucy Carter Lighting Designer

Gareth Fry Sound Designer

Luke Halls Video Designer 

Tracey Seaward Creative Producer 

Jo Stendall and Kathleen Murphy for Boy Blue 

Associate Producers 

Lara Rose McCabe Rehearsal Director & Resident Director 

Nathaniel SB Impraim-Jones Rehearsal Director 

Amalie White Associate Set Designer 

Chris Hirst Associate Lighting Designer 

Production Team

Phil Wilding Production Manager

Sam Hunter Head of Production

Tahra Zafar Head of Costume

Lily Mollgaard Props Supervisor 

Peter Barnett Company Stage Manager

Liz Copp Technical Stage Manager

Gemma Thomas Show Caller 

Jambi Darnton, Afua Nuamah Assistant Stage Managers 

Factory International

Fiona Pride Executive Producer 

Anna Moutrey Senior Producer 

Rowan Kudekha-Lark Associate Producer 

Louis Lisle Production Administrator 

Jack Thompson Associate Technical Director 

Alex Adamson Head of Scenic & Gallery Installation 

David Wimpenny Head of Lighting & Video 

Sorcha Steele Head of Sound 

Thank you to the entire Factory International team. For a full staff list, please see


Choreographic contribution from Lara Rose McCabe, Nathaniel SB Impraim-Jones and the full cast 

Paul Moore Director of Production & Building Operations 

John Gilleese Technical Manager 

Rory Howson Associate Production Manager 

Nick Murray Draughtsman 

James Haworth at Event Safety Plan H&S Consultant 

Lily Maketansky, Fraser Millward Production Coordinators

Zuri Fernandez, Maisha Kungu Company Coordinators

Abir Tobji Engagement Manager 

Yatie Aziz Engagement Coordinator 

Eleni Roka, Kieran Youd Factory Academy Interns 

Isaac Partington Producing Apprentice 

Tom French Deputy Head of Stage 

James Unsworth Deputy Head of Exhibitions 

Gareth Houghton, Pete Ellis, Chris Tonini Production Carpenters 

Simon Beech, Bella Casson, Ted Ruiz Daniels, Joel Pendleton, Ellis Robison, Phil Thackray Stage Technicians 

Stephanie Weaver, Cameron Gorman Stage Show Crew 

Sam Avison Automation Operator 

Mark Perrin, Ben Smith, Paul Smith Aerial Riggers 

Frumpid Stumplestone Aerialist Technician 

Hannah Marshall Production Wardrobe Manager 

Emily Brooks, Tilly Jean Production Wardrobe Deputies

Lou-Anne Binns, Ilektra Charalampopoulou, Susan Krylonsky, Evangeline Taylor, Sharleen TebbWardrobe Department 

Dominic Skinner for M·A·C Cosmetics Make-up Direction 

Lucy Packham Hair & Make-up Supervisor 

Cat Cameron Hair & Make-up Assistant 

Tara Laverick, Rachel Tansey University of Salford Costume Interns 

Philippa Downes, James Gaskell, Paul Hennessy, Jamie Owens Prop makers 

Adam Greenwood Prop Technician 

James Greenwood, Ian Moulds, Connor O'Neill, Peter Scandrett, Dash Wong Production Electricians 

Max Narula Lighting Programmer 

Akshay Khubchandani Lighting Technician & Programmer 

Abigail Peacock University of Salford Placement 

Toni Robinson Choir Director 

Matthew Ward, Arnau Aragones, Alicia Sadler, Yvonne Park Vocals 

Simon Chue Music Assistant 

Pierce Archer, David Gregory, Lewis Jones, Paul Meardon, Eoin O'Grady Production Sound Engineers 

William Bower Sound Technician 

Eleanor Theodorou Sound Operator 

Olympias Music Foundation

Alice Needham Choir Director

Olympias Music Foundation Youth Voices

Dean Trust Ardwick Choir

Mark Todd, Kat Kemsley, Zakk Hein Luke Halls Studio 

Gareth Shelton Video Programmer 

Andrew Croft, Alex Hawtin Video Technicians & Operators 

Films by Ali Johnson, Jayden Crooks, Lui Bauer, Grace Smith, Charlie Andrew, Niall Del Gesso, Lauryn Pedley, Sonny DeCieco, Luca Testa School of Digital Arts (SODA) 

Claire Bleasdale CDG Casting Director – Children 

Jonathan Hull for Jonathan Hull Associates LLP Legal & Business Affairs 

Rigging supplied by Unusual Rigging Ltd 

LED screen supplied by Blue-I Ltd 

Lights supplied by Christie Lites Ltd & White Light Ltd

Sound supplied by Stage Sound Services Ltd

Holoplot supplied by Creative Technologies Ltd

Scenery supplied by Visual Scene Ltd

Fabric Installation and Dance Floor supplied by J&C Joel Ltd 

Arches supplied by J&C Joel Ltd & Stage One Ltd

Staging supplied by Steeldeck Rentals Ltd 

Pyro supplied by Encore SFX

Lasers supplied by ER Productions Ltd

Apex hoists supplied by Tait and Unusual Rigging Ltd

Living Statues designer & engineer John Godbolt

Aerialist rigging & equipment by Anystage Creative Ltd

3D milk carton and torches by Aaron Merriman

1940s TV by Paul Jones FX

Blackboard and rehearsal support by Will Gaskell properly made

Key Maker by Philippa Rowley

Footwear sponsored by Dr. Martens

Make-up sponsored by M·A·C Cosmetics

Eyewear supplied by Tom Davies

Costumes supplied by Gareth Pugh, Applied Arts, Darcy Clothing, Fashion Enter, Prudence Millinery, Nicola Killeen Textiles 

Wigs by Matt George Wigs 

Programme edited by Polly Checkland Harding


Lana Wachowski and Lilly Wachowski

Russell Allen from Arri Media. Vicki Amedume, Richard Asante, Mark Ball. Stephanie Barrick andJustine Dunton-Rose at M·A·C Cosmetics. Bruntwood. 

Dr Alice Cliff, Rachel Knight, Sally MacDonald and John Stack from the Science and Industry Museum. Marsha Courneya, Jill Griffiths and Toby Heys from the School of Digital Arts (SODA), Manchester Metropolitan University. Ben Davis. Alex Fleetwood from Niantic Labs. Adam Gascoyne, Pearl Gerald, Kristi Gilligan. Mike Grierson from the Creative Computing Institute, University of the Arts London. Sam Hayes, Ruth Hogben, Mika Hyde, Gabrielle Jenks, Sascha Jones, Mark Kaufman. Ben Lumsden from Epic Games. Lawrence Mattis. Carson McColl and Àine Geoghegan for HARD+SHINY. Robin McNicholas from Marshmallow Laser Feast. Tim Morris,, Chris Mullaney, Louis Mustill. Dr Miguel Ortiz from the Sonic Arts Research Centre, Queen's University Belfast. Matthew Plummer-Fernández. Toni Racklin and Angie Smith from Barbican Centre. Sam Renton. Matthew Shaw for ScanLAB. Neena Shea, Dominic Skinner, Tom Stansfield, Hugo Weaving as the voice of Smith. Hugh Whittaker from Warner Bros Electrical. Glyn Williams

Our deepest thanks go to all those who helped us make Free Your Mind the show that it is through our Research and Development workshops. 

Jimmy Allan, Theophilus O. Bailey, Emily Bajic, Zoe Baptiste, Nicey Belgrave, Tanaka Bingwa, Georgia Bird, India Bowen, Ellis Brownhill, Emma Cameron, Ffion Campbell-Davies, Irena Cuturic, Ricardo da Silva, Joseph Davies, Idney De’Almeida, George Duker, Holly Dunsmore, Lily Louisa Field, Jordan ‘J-Funk’ Franklin, Dennis George Zimmerman, Martina Gumbs, Yasmin Harcourt, Ian Harris, Nina Heywood, Tia Holden, Mackenzie Hunt, Eunice Huthart, Tobi Izedomi, Pascha Jacobs-Jones, Natalie James, Malachi Lewis-Paul, Poppydene Lingham, Jenai Mason-Smith, Lara Rose McCabe, Kelsey Miller, Nicole Nyemi-Tei, Andera Peiroudi, Miguel Semedo, Eloise Sheldon, Olivia Shouler, Clarissa Shulungu, Stefan Sinclair, Chad Taylor, Ziggy Taylor, Iona Turnbull, Jules Valentine, Kane Walcott, Rosie Whiting, Katherine Wilde 

Factory International is grateful for the support of all of our corporate and commercial partners, individual donors, trusts and foundations and public funders. Factory International is a registered charity (charity number: 1113902). Email for more information. 

Based on the Warner Bros films written and directed by the Wachowskis. Produced by special arrangement with Warner Bros Theatre Ventures. Commissioned and produced by Factory International. 

Rehearsal photography by Tristram Kenton.

Sign up ↓